Dub Cee Reviews: Oldboy (2003)

Director: Chan-wook Park

Writer(s) – Garon Tsuchiya (story), Nobuaki Minegishi (comic)

 

There are some things in live that are simply impossible to explain. Things that just make absolutely no sense to anybody else but you. A desire to do things a certain way even it if makes little to no sense at all.  Why do people in Indiana say “wershington”? Why must you wear makeup to go to the gas station? Why do I dip my food in odd condiments? Welcome to my review of “Oldboy”.

Let me get this out there right off the bat and save the suspense. This movie is damn near perfect in everyway. The acting is top notch across the board. Not a weak performance to be found. The dialouge is gripping, engaging, and realistic. The choices the characters make are logical in their situation. The action sequences, particularly the famous hallway fight, are the stuff of legend. The pacing is fast but not rushed. The colors are subduded when need and bright in the rare occasion they need to be. That said, I really just did not enjoy watching this movie.

It has taken me this long to write what will be a short review because I simply cannot explain why I did not enjoy it. All that I said previously is true. The plot twist is flat out epic and yet I had almost no reaction to it at all. Again, I am sorry this review is so short. This is arguable the best movie made in the last 10 years and yet I will never watch it again. I want to write more, really I do but there is nothing to say. I have nothing negative to say about the movie. At all. I even thought the cliffhanger at the end was nicely done and yet, again, I will not watch this again.

Oh well, back to dipping my pizza in mustard.

Grade: B+ (Because it really is a good movie.)

3 Responses to “Dub Cee Reviews: Oldboy (2003)”

  1. Film students have a love affair with Oldboy. I’m proudly part of that flock of sheep, because Oldboy is just amazing to me. The performances, the shots (the hallway fight scene), the twist — blam. This is one of the few ‘serious’ movies that I can watch over and over again. I could put it on in the background, even though it’s foreign, jump in and out at any time and still be entertained.

  2. Yep. It rules.

  3. chainsawcheerleader Says:

    I second what Jay and Pi said. Your honesty is great. Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

