Dub Cee Reviews: Sleepy Hollow (2000)

Director:  Tim Burton

Writer(s):  Washington Irvin (Story),  Kevin Yagher and Andrew Kevin Walker (Screen Story)

I am just going to put this out there right off the top. Tim Burton is one of my favorite directors. Johnny Depp and Christopher Walken are two of my favorite actors. Finally, Christina Ricci is one of my favorite actresses and hey, she is hot, which is never a bad thing to have in your leading female. That all said, I am not a huge fan of this movie. I do not hate it. I have actually watched it a few times. That said, let’s take a look at it.

Sleepy Hollow, as you might have guessed, is a retelling of the classic short story The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Washington Irving. Needless to say, turning a short story into a 105 min movie requires some creative liecense by the writers. And they use it. Ichabod Crane (Depp) is an exiled and mocked police inspector who is sent to the village of Sleepy Hollow to investigate a string of deaths. Upon his arrival he learns of the details of the murders. The heads of the victims have been removed and the heads cannot be found. The locals are tell the tale of a brutal Hessian (Walken) who was killed by Colonists during the Revolution. When he was captured, his decapitated and his head buried with the body. Legend has it that whoever controls the head of the Horseman, also controls his reanimated body.

Ricci plays the daughter of one of the prominent locals who we later learn is involed in a massive paternity cover up which Crane slowly…and I do mean slowly unravels. Casper Van Dien has a small role as the local young hot shot. He fights well but eventually has to split. Once you see the movie you will get the joke…and its the same level of humor as you will find in the movie. For example, our heroes are fleeing into a windmill to escape the Horseman. The person controlling the Horseman sees them and remarks, “Watch your head!” See, clever.

Overall, there are a couple of somewhat humorous moments and its a decent whodunit but I thought the movie was too slow and too cheesy even for me.

Grade: C

7 Responses to “Dub Cee Reviews: Sleepy Hollow (2000)”

  1. chainsawcheerleader Says:

    I’ve watched this movie a couple of times and for some reason it feels like it was better 10 years ago when it came out. Maybe we have been spoiled by better Burton movies and better acting from Depp. They are so great at what they do I think they are held to higher standards. I think Sleepy Hollow has been done so many times it may just be difficult at this point to make it anymore interesting. Good review.

  2. I liked Sleepy Hollow when it came out, but I too think if I viewed it more recently I’d look at it less favorably. Tim Burton and I have a love/hate relationship right now. I want to love him. I do. I loved Batman & Batman Returns, Edward Scissorhands, Big Fish, Beetlejuice, Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure and yeah — I really did love Sweeney Todd. With that said, I really hated Charlie & The Chocolate Factory, disliked Corpse Bride, found Ed Wood to be understandably liked but yet a let down and I felt that his version of Wonderland was also OK but nothing more.

    He’s a Director with a very noticeable style, yes. The jokes have been made and every once in a while he does something to seem like he’s maturing (Big Fish), but ultimately he’s churning out the same goth remakes of old stories and it’s getting tiresome. His next film, Dark Shadows, is supposed to be like a remake of a gothic soap opera that ran in the 60s and 70s. I want him to do something original again.

  3. Ed Wood ruled.

  4. Yeah, that seems to be a popular opinion.

  5. I haven’t seen Sleepy Hollow…and I’m not sure I want to. I’ve lost all faith in Tim Burton. I’m just done with him. I’m sure it’s just me and I just don’t get it. But sometimes you gotta just let go. This is me…letting go.

  6. I forget, did Burton manage to shoehorn his daddy issues into this movie too? It’s not just you, supercarnitas. Burton can fuck himself. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Tim Burton is no longer a director. He’s a provider of content for Hot Topics.

  7. Oh, I forgot about Sweeney Todd. I have to admit, I liked that a lot.

Leave a Reply

