Tigris Rose’s review of “The Rocky Horror Picture Show” (1975)

The Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975)
Director: Jim Sharman
Writers: Richard O’Brien, Jim Sharman
Most noted Leads: Tim Curry, Susan Sarandon, Barry Bostwisk, Meat Loaf

The most flashy, trashy, cheesy ass mind fuck of a musical EVER! But I love it so much! The Rocky Horror Picture Show is such a cult classic and a growing Halloween favorite for our generation. Even now cities all over do the show live in theaters about this time of the year, keeping the tradition of the musical alive with props, and the constant audience participation.

Defiantly a musical for a more mature audience. Lets face it, you do not want to let the little ones, or most teenagers watch this movie. It is very adult oriented, raunchy, quick wit, and blatant sexual innuendos. I don’t know which is worse, the people being in their nickers through out the whole movie, Meat Loaf’s small part during his fat period, or the fact Tim Curry looks good dressed in drag.

There were some good things that really came from this movie. One is Peter Hinwood body. The man was ripped. Hinwood played a hot Frankenstein like monster “Rocky Horror” created by the “sweet transvestite” Dr. Frank-N-Furter played by Tim Curry. The fact that Hinwood wore a speedo through out the whole movie, was nice eye candy. Thankfully he didn’t have many lines. Then of course there his love triangle involvement. Of course being created by the good Doctor, Rocky of course originally belonged to him. But later on in the movie, Rocky got it on with Susan Sarandon’s character Janet, which begot one of the worst, yet well known songs of the movie.

Two on the good things list, the creepy yet entertaining performance that is Tim Curry. I love Tim Curry he is a very good, but creepy actor. There’s the “Rocky Horror Picture Show”, “IT”, he was good in “Clue”, “Home Alone 2”, that episode of “Criminal Minds” from a few weeks ago. Not a big fan of his Mr. French t.v. show. As Dr. Frank-N-Furter, Curry makes for a really messed up drag queen. Sexually promiscuous, egotistical, narcissistic, he manipulates his new guests Brad and Janet. He sleeps with both of them, and Rocky, and you learn most of everyone else in the building he’s had a piece of. the Doctor also has a god complex, he creates the human Rocky for his own person wants and desires. Of course, unlike actual horror movies, the good doctor gets his in the end, by his superiors from Transylvania. But you got to give it up to Tim Curry, no man can wear heavy make-up, garters, corset, or heals like that man can… well maybe Patrick Swayze or Dustin Hoffman.

The third great thing about this movie is the music. Yes, people it is a musical, which I love. but this one is just one you really have to watch. But the songs in this movie just make you want to get up and sing, or laugh your ass off. Let see out of my favorite you have “Sweet Transvestite,” “I can Make You a Man,” Hot Patootie-Bless My Soul” which is Meat Loaf’s song in the movie. but my all time favorite, and probably the most iconic song has to be “The Time Warp.” Even if you don’t like the show, people like this song. Some even go so far as to actually dance “The Time Warp.”

“It’s just a jump to the left
And then a step to the right
With your hands on your hips
You bring your knees in tight
But it’s the pelvic thrust that really drives you insane,
Let’s do the Time Warp again!”

Is this a great movie? Hardly. Its guilty pleasure and a cult classic but not an A movie. The acting was completely over the top. The costumes either flashy or non-existent. One nice thing that I like from the movie is that it keeps that winks, and looks that break the fourth wall that makes it feel like its still the play and they are still acknowledging that audience interaction. The cinematography in this movie is pretty good since it is an adaptation of a play. Its a little sad that it didn’t do well 35 years ago, but that initial fail ended up making this a cult classic not only for the movie, but for the play.

Actual movie rating: D+, However i love this movie and it is a guilty pleasure so that rating is a little higher on the scale.

8 Responses to “Tigris Rose’s review of “The Rocky Horror Picture Show” (1975)”

  1. Toucha, Toucha, Toucha, Touch Me is NOT the worst song in this movie.

    Most of this crew knows I’m a big fan of campy musicals and Rocky is an allime fav. I am SO looking forward to Glee’s version for their Halloween episode. Rocky is cheap and schlocky, but has hella memorable, catchy songs.

    I think everyone needs to have the theatre experience at least once. Even though it’s way scaled down from what it used to be, it’s still a certain energy that you don’t get from watching it at home. Most major cities still have occasional showings (not Vegas).

    Great review Sam. I eouldve graded it higher though.

  2. tigrisrose Says:

    I hate that song… you just like it because Sarandan’s boobs are shaking all over the place.

    The grade is an actual realistic review of the acting, cinematography, and box office at the time. that is why that is so low. On my own personal rating for favorite I so give it an A-. I love this show!!!

  3. Whatever happened to Saturday night?

    I would never call this film a guilty pleasure. To me, it’s just a pleasure. I grew up on it — my mother was — okay, as we SPEAK my mother is quoting Rocky Horror in the other room to my sister. The reason being my sister is playing Magenta in the school’s yearly production of Rocky Horror (they play the film while actors act in front of the stage). Nice timing, huh?

    As I was saying, my mother was a Rocky Horror fanatic since it opened. She knows every word by heart, saw the show weekly as a teenager, and owned the vinyl album. With that said, I grew up on Rocky Horror. I’ve seen it more times than I care to count. The fact that it exploded into such a phenomenon is pretty amazing, but well deserved. There’s hardly a film out there that has as much fun with itself as Rocky Horror.

    Good review, Tigs. Love the film.

  4. I used to go to the midnight shows on the regular when I was in high school. Always had a damn good time. Even by itself, without the theater part of it, the film has a certain charm to it.

  5. Sarandon has boobs?

  6. chainsawcheerleader Says:

    I adore this film. Though I would have graded this film much higher, Tig is right from a technical point of view. The director had a big message but a low budget. Even if the director did the best he could with what he had the actors and writing really hides that fact. I have seen this film live a couple of times and it almost feels like a right of passage.

    Great review, Tig and I agree. Tim Curry looks gorgeous in drag.

  7. I always had a good time at this movie. Shit..I’ve had some pretty unforgettable times at this movie. Can’t say I’ve ever seen it sober though. Good review, it brought back a lot of fond memories.

Leave a Reply

